Can I use a privacy VPN alongside Zerotier? How

This may have already been asked before, I’m very new to networking and I’m getting confused. I am currently using HMA VPN service for privacy. With the VPN connected I’m unable to connect with my home network through Zerotier.

Is there a way to make it so I can use zerotier while also using a privacy VPN? If so, how do I set that up? I have a computer running windows 10 and another running Ubuntu. If there is a tutorial that anyone could link that would be great too.

Short answer: It’s not easy.

Trying to do both directly on a Windows 10 computer, I only ever managed to succeed by connecting to my VPN (Mullvad) manually using the OpenVPN client and then creating a bunch of custom firewall rules to force everything except ZeroTier through that. It was complicated (for me, also a networking rookie) and very frustrating and there was no “one guide to do all of this” anywhere.

Since then, I changed tactics and started using a router running OpenWrt that lets me run WireGuard to connect to my VPN (still Mullvad) and also run ZeroTier in a routing configuration.

It’s still plenty complicated and takes some setup (obviously getting a supported router and setting up OpenWrt in the first place), but the advantages are huge:

1. Cover all devices in your LAN at once for both privacy VPN and ZeroTier. With Mullvad, I’m allowed 5 “devices”, but they consider the router and everything behind it to be a single device.

2. No need to install anything on your computers. No VPN software, no ZeroTier “app”.

3. You can put other devices behind the VPN too.

The disadvantages:

1. Bypassing the VPN when needed is a little more tricky than just clicking an “OFF” button in a VPN app. But still doable!

2. Ditto keeping certain devices off the VPN (i.e. streaming box, game console, TV with Netflix app, etc).