GDPR and ZeroTier

Hi all!

Do any of you use ZeroTier with my.zerotier.com in Europe, for connecting your customers to networks / services that you host?

If so, how do you deal with the GDPR, with regard to the US server storing your customers’ IP, last connected time, etc?

I am not a GDPR expert; I’m looking to hear about other users’ experiences. In particular I am considering it for use to serve customers, but, this GDPR question is a sticky one.

Cheers from Germany! :beers:

I think you’re “over thinking” it, every time you visit a website, your IP, Time and so on are stored,

While the ID used in zerotier is unique, it’s not enough to personally identify a user.

I wouldn’t worry about it

Thanks for your reply Chris! :slight_smile:

GDPR (DSGVO / RGPD) does not allow to store the user IP without proper reason as this is a personal data. And the reason has to be explained. Zerotier does not explain why, where (third party hosting companies involved? If yes, which one and what is stored there?) and how long IPs are stored so Zerotier is not GDPR compliant:

some of which may be collected and stored by us.

Public IP addresses of web browsers and API clients accessing ZeroTier web sites and services.
Public IP addresses of devices running ZeroTier network virtualization software.

One solution could be to ask the user every time before he connects to a network, if he allows storing his IP address on the ZeroTier Central server as long the connection will be active.

In addition the web service is not GDPR cookie consent or CCPA compliant as it stores user data without asking / informing the user:

Web browsing patterns on ZeroTier web sites such as pages visited, page visit order, referring links, etc.
Web browser or client versions, operating systems, and other general statistics as revealed in request headers or via other in-band sources.

Finally Zerotier needs to provide a GDPR-compliant Data Processing Addendum/Agreement (DPA).

@zt-grant @zt-joseph