GL.Inet Brume 2 (firmware 4.2.X) as a VPN server (Directing all traffic to the device)

Hello!

I’m a complete newbie about networking and ZeroTier, to the point that I’m still grasping some concepts, so I would appreciate a bit of a dumbed down info on this :).

My employer doesn’t let me go out of the country (Germany) while I work, even if I have a remote position. That’s alright by me, but at this moment, a medical emergency of a family member forces me to go to Austria for a month or so and I have no vacation days left. There’s no one else who can take care of them, as we’re the only two in my family in Europe.

I have a Brume 2 connected to my router that I intend to use as a traditional VPN server, directing all traffic on ZeroTier to the Brume. I have a travel router (Slate AX by GL.Inet) that I will take with me to Austria.

Setting up a traditional VPN with OpenVPN or Wire Guard isn’t an option for my particular case due to ISP restrictions.

From firmware 4.2, GL.Inet devices support ZeroTier natively. I followed some tutorials, I set up my Brume 2, my Slate AX and my phone in my ZeroTier network, and I’ve added The following route:

[0.0.0.0/0] via (My brume’s ZeroTier IP)

Is that enough, or am I missing something? I read about Default Route Override, and it seems that I have to enable that. I’m not sure how to do this, and the documentation on it is too complicated for me to follow. Maybe someone can dumb it down for me?

Hi!

You forgot to explain your main objective but I guess it’s connecting a remote computer to you job, right?

Question, don’t you have some kind of VPN already inplace at work and secondly is ZeroTier a completelty new solution for them? You also forgott to inform about where the diffrent routers are located ie at work or home, etc.