GUI for creation of rules

hello,

i just want a simple GUI to create rules as any cheap router can do.

i am finding that the creation of rules is very complicated for a few reasons.

1. no GUI, forced to edit a json file on a webpage. that webpage is so primitive and complex. feels like i am being punished every time i fight with it, a battle i seem to be losing.
  2. the concept of the rules are very different from a typical firewall on a router.
  3. to create a high level overlay to the low level rules… i am a python programmer but zerotier rules are like programming in the C language, almost assembly language. really, what the heck is chr and why must i deal with it? just hide it in some kind of abstraction layer.
  4. to have the client app to be able to create rules, so no need to login to the zerotier website.
  5. the manual page is way to complicated. so please create an additional manual page for normal users without all the scary parts. also to include many real-world use-cases.

thanks,

Sorry you’re having issues with the rules language. It is different from other things you may be familiar with, but it’s quite powerful, too. A GUI something we’ve been been mulling about, but it’s a tough nut to crack. As you said yourself

“the concept of the rules are very different from a typical firewall on a router.”

That’s for a good reason. ZeroTier isn’t a firewall or router! There’s no one place on a ZeroTier network for rules to be enforced. Thus, rules must be enforced bidirectionally on each peer of the network. As such we have a stateless packet filtering system in ZeroTier. Not a stateful firewall like you may be used to. This means you have to think about things differently.