Help Creating Seamless Access to my Devices

Hey, so I’m aware this question has been asked in some variation many times, but I’m still learning things and need extra help. I followed this guide to make an L3 network with my OpenWrt AP. My goal is to be able to ping local clients from a remote ZeroTier client using the local clients’ IP (192.168.1.X), and for local clients to ping a remote device with the Zerotier IP (172.28.28.X). So far I’m able to ping remote clients from any device on the local network, but I’m unable to ping local devices over Zerotier.

Here’s what my ZeroTier network looks like right now:

• Managed routes: 172.28.28.0/24 via LAN, 192.168.1.0/24 via 172.28.28.1
  • IP Range: From 172.28.28.1 to 172.28.28.255
  • Members

I’m not really sure where to go from here…

Seems like a pretty simple topology, but just to make sure.

1. You have something like a phone connected to Zerotier, and you want to be able to talk between the phone and your LAN?
  2. You can talk when originating traffic from your LAN to ZeroTier hosts? (e.g. ping 172.28.28.95 from something on 192.168.1.0/24)
  3. You cannot talk when originating from your ZeroTier hosts to your LAN? (e.g. ping something on your 192.168.1.0/24 network from 172.28.28.95)

If all of that is accurate, this is likely just a firewall issue on OpenWRT. We would know this because your traffic works end to end from your LAN, meaning bidirectional traffic is working.

Assuming you have a ZeroTier and LAN zone, it’s you’re likely not allowing traffic originating from the ZeroTier zone to your LAN.

You are correct with your three assumptions. Though on line 137 of my /etc/config/firewall, it looks like my ZeroTier traffic (vpn) is getting sent to my LAN

Yep, you’re allowing traffic between zones, originated from either zone. What does your flow rules look like?

My flow rules are untouched: