Linux iptables and ZeroTier

Hi.
I’m new to VPN and was glad that ZeroTier was very easy to install and use. I connected several Windows PCs without any problem. But when I tried to connect to my Raspberry, every connection is rejected.

I found out, that the firewall (iptables) blocks the connection to the VPN. “zerotier-cli info” shows me OFFLINE, as soon as I start the iptables rules. I attached rules at the beginning of the chain to accept every incoming and outgoing connection from the IP range of the VPN(10.147.x.0). And I accept every connection from the virtual ZT interface.

But in the end every attempt to connect runs though the chain and is rejected. I read several HowTos, but they are all regarding the forwarding of communication and using the Raspberry as a kind of gateway.

But I just want to establish a connection to the Raspberry like to a normal computer. Any ideas?

Best regards,
Stefan

Welcome. Post your rules if you like: iptables-save

You basically need all outgoing udp ports allowed, and 9993 udp in.

For the outgoing, you might be able to get the “owner” module of iptables to work. The installer creates a zerotier-one user on the system in most cases.

iptables -A OUTPUT -m owner --uid-owner 998 -j ACCEPT

Make sure your zerotier interfaces are allowed to talk too:

iptables -A INPUT -i zt+ -j ACCEPT

iptables -A OUTPUT -o zt+ -j ACCEPT

hope that helps

1 Like

5 posts were split to a new topic: Device stuck OFFLINE / TUNNELED

Alternative suggestion… https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/security.md gives some guidance on using ufw as a firewall. Maybe use that & allow port 9993 ?

I reconstructed my iptables completely new and from the beginning.

My last config was enabling all IP addresses individually (e.g 192.168.0.55/32), also the VPN IPs. Now I opened the complete range (192.168.0.0/24 and 10.147.x.0/24).