Poor zerotier performance with opnsense

I’m having performance “bottlenecks” when using opnsense with zerotier. This is complicated as I’ve done a full day’s worth of testing to get where I am. I am a network engineer, so I’m not exactly new to networking, nor do I think I have something horribly misconfigured. But, I’m definitely open to being told I have something wrong.

I have multiple sites, and I’ve been in a “testing” phase for years. Multiple customers are very interested in zerotier, but with the performance issues, it’s a no-go until this is resolved. I did previously post about this issue in 2022, but got no answers. I decided to redo my testing, and here is my results…

I’ve always been relatively disappointed in the zerotier VPN performance despite us using it for testing for almost 3 years. I’ve always thought ZT was “just slow” until I did some googling and more testing. A few websites compared ZT to be nearly identical to IPSEC and others. When I saw some people doing 400Mb/sec, I started questioning if my performance is expected or if something is actually wrong on my part. So I started digging deeper…

I have 2 different ZT networks and different sites. All are using Opnsense and all are on the latest versions of opnsense and the os-zerotier plugin as of 5/23/2024. I’ve chosen 2 sites close to each other by latency (and geographically). In this case, the 2 sites are about 5 miles apart geographically. Of course, that doesn’t mean that the network won’t go through some ridiculously long path to get between each other, but the latency is lowest between these 2 points. I’m doing these tests at 5AM local time for both sides to ensure that daytime workloads wouldn’t affect my test.

At the time of this writing, opnsense is on version 24.1.7_4-amd64 and os-wireguard plugin is on version 1.3.2_4. That translates to the zerotier client software being version 1.14.0.