Running `zerotier-cli -T**** join` returns `401`

Hi all,

I’m very new to ZeroTier, so it’s quite likely I’m misunderstanding how to use the -T switch. I’m currently trying on Ubuntu 18.04, but I don’t believe that’s relevant.

The command help says:

-T<token>               - Authentication token (default: auto)

I generated an API access token on ZeroTier Central

My “Access Control” policy is: PRIVATE (Nodes must be authorized to become members)
I tried:

• sudo zerotier-cli -Tfull_path_to_file_containing_token join my_network_ID
  • sudo zerotier-cli -Tfilename_only join my_network_ID
  • sudo zerotier-cli -Tactual_token_value join my_network_ID

All of the above return:

401 join {}

Questions:

• Am I incorrectly understanding the purpose of that switch? Can a node only be authorized via the UI?
  • If auto is the default option for that switch, what are the other possible values?

Any insight will be much appreciated :pray:

I believe that the authentication token should be the one that zerotier generated when it was first installed. This is located in /var/lib/zerotier-one/authtoken.secret or ~/.zeroTierOneAuthToken on ubuntu.

There are two kinds of authentication tokens. One authenticates against the zerotier service running on your computer. The second authenticates against the external network controller API. The -T flag on the zerotier-cli command is the former local token. You can’t use the API token there.

Users must be authorized from the web UI or via the API as described here and here

Zerotier-cli does not directly use the management API at all I believe.

The two APIs are described here and here.

1 Like