ZeroTier Bridge with multicast support

Hi, I’m trying to follow this https://zerotier.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/SD/pages/7471125/Layer+2+Bridging+of+Ethernet+and+ZeroTier+Networks+on+Linux

to setup a bridge so I can vpn from the road and connect to my home LAN.

I was able to get ZeroTier 1.8.9 installed and the machine is seen in ZeroTier Central.

However, after I etc /etc/network/interfaces` per the instructions (this file was previously blank), and reboot my machine, I am no longer able to connect to the internet. Eg. eth0 is down.

The only way I can restore internet connection is by deleting /etc/network/interfaces

I am running Ubuntu 20.04

Any idea what I am doing wrong? As you can probably tell, I am a complete Linux noob, but want to install this so I can get Roon to work when I am on the road. Roon is a music app and need multicast to work and from my research, ZeroTier supports multicast.

Thank you!

Hi, as an update, I find that the instructions in the link above work better on a dietpi hyper-v vm since it appears with Ubuntu with GUI installed, networking is controlled by a different method. Dietpi is Debian based.

And so on the dietpi vm with two NIC’s installed, I’m able to complete the instructions. However, I am still unable to to connect to my home LAN.

When I do an #ip a, I see that eth0 has an ip as expected and zt0 (mine is called something different) also has an ip. I can also see the dietpi vm in ZeroTier Central.

My LAN DHCP server is setup to give out addresses from 192.168.1.100 to 192.168.1.200. Therefore, I set the IPv4 Auto-assign pool from 192.168.1.201 to 192.168.1.255.

Is there anything else I need to do to connect to my home LAN?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Also tried this https://zerotier.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/SD/pages/193134593/Bridge+your+ZeroTier+and+local+network+with+a+RaspberryPi